Mysore Style Ashtanga self-practice

How does Mysore Style work?

Mysore Style is the traditional practice method of the Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga system as taught by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois† his daughter Saraswathi Jois and his grandson Sharath Jois in Mysore, South India. In this form of practice, each person goes through the set sequence of poses at his or her individual pace, in harmony with the rhythm of their own breath. Working independently the practitioner shifts their focus within, resulting in a practice that is at once dynamic and meditatively still.

One-to-one assistance, adjustment and tuition are given by an authorised ashtanga teacher within this group context and students are introduced to new postures as and when they are ready. This style of teaching makes Ashtanga accessible to all levels of students. The collective breath makes the room come alive, helping to support each person at whatever level they may be in their practice.

You start your practice at a time that suits you, but try to start not later than 7.30am. The teacher is there from 6.30am, make sure you finish your practice by 8.45am.

The sequences in Ashtanga Yoga are fix and don't change. There are 6 series.
You always start with the sun salutations A&B, followed by the standing sequence and then move into the series. After backbending you do the finishing sequence.
You should know the sequence by heart, but of course you can always ask the teacher or look it up if necessary.


Each posture is build on the previous one. Once you master a posture the teacher will move you on to the next one, until you are able to do the full series. After that you will be moved on to the next series. Primary series is already demanding and requests a certain dedication towards the practice. So be patient with your body and let the practice grow on you, and you will experience a happier and better life.

Fridays we do a primary series led class, counted in Sanskrit. Which will help you to keep the pace, flow and energy up and you'll start to understand the breath in the Asanas and Vinyasas.

The beauty about the Mysore Style is that each student works independently at his/her own individual pace/breath and level within the group. The teacher is always available and will work with you on your difficulties one to one.

We offer workshops to introduce you to the Mysore Style self-practice.

Go to Workshops & Courses

Monkey mind

Authorisation / Certification of Ashtanga Teachers

KPJAYI INSTITUTE in Mysore India is the only authority able to authorise or certify individuals to teach the ashtanga yoga method as taught by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois† and Sharath Jois.

The list constitutes the official record of teachers approved by the KPJAYI.

Teachers that are listed on this website are experienced practitioners and dedicated students who have shown a considerable degree of proficiency and appreciation of ashtanga yoga in its traditional form and who continue to study regularly at the KPJAYI.

Moon days in 2020 for UK Moon days

In Mysore Style tradition, new moon days and full moon days are days of rest for Ashtanga Mysore Style practitioners.

The human body, is affected by the gravitational pull of the moon. The positions of the moon creates an energetic experience that can be compared to the breath cycle. The full moon corresponds to the end of an inhalation where we feel energetic and emotional, but not well grounded. The new moon corresponds to the end of an exhalation where we feel calm and grounded, but not energetic or inclined to physical exertion.

It is said that because our energy is more strongly affected on these days, there is a greater risk of injury during practice. It is also said that injuries suffered on moon days take longer to heal.
So enjoy your day off :)

  • January 2020
  • Friday 10th  
  • Friday 24th  
  • February
  • Sunday 9th  
  • Sunday 23rd  
  • March
  • Monday 9th  
  • Tuesday 24th  
  • April
  • Wednesday 8th  
  • Thursday 23rd  
  • May
  • Thursday 7th  
  • Friday 22nd  
  • June
  • Friday 5th  
  • Sunday 21st  
  • July
  • Sunday 5th  
  • Monday 20th  
  • August
  • Monday 3rd  
  • Wednesday 19th  
  • September
  • Wednesday 2nd  
  • Thursday 17th  
  • October
  • Thursday 1st  
  • Friday 16th  
  • Saturday 31st  
  • November
  • Sunday 15th  
  • Monday 30th  
  • December
  • Monday 14th  
  • Wednesday 30th  

Where does Ashtanga Yoga come from Source of Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga

It is not known how long this system has been passed on verbally but we do know, that hundreds of years ago, Vamana Rishi was first to write down the Asthanga Yoga System on palm leaves so called "Yoga Korunta" manuscript.

The Yoga Korunta has been found by Tirumalai Krishnamacharya, discovered in a library in Calcutta and has been teaching his student Sri K Pattabhi Jois since 1927.


David Williams was one of the first westeners, who has been introduced to the system by Pattabhi Jois. He brought it to the West. But it was in the 90ies, when celebrities like Madonna, Sting, etc. have start practising Ashtanga Yoga and made it world known.

Ashtanga Yoga has 6 series, each series has it's own benefits. Primary series (Yoga Chikitsa ) will cleans and detoxify your body, misalignments will be adjusted. Second series (Nadi-Shodhana) is for cleansing your nervous system. Advanced A,B,C&D (Sthira Bhaga), divine stability.

Eight Limbs of Yoga Eight limbs of yoga

tree of yoga

The Classical Limbs of Yoga System, known as Ashtanga Yoga (ashta - ‘eight’, anga - ‘limbs’), as laid out in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, is divided into eight steps or stages through which the body and mind are prepared, purified, and then surmounted and these are as follows:

  1. Yama (ethical relationships, i.e. non-violence, truthfulness, not stealing, continence and the non-gripping of things and thoughts)
  2. Niyama (internal awareness, i.e. cleanliness, contentment, mystical burning, self study and surrender to higher spirit)
  3. Asana (postures)
  4. Pranayama (extension of the breath)
  5. Pratyahara (drawing back the senses)
  6. Dharana (concentration of the mind)
  7. Dhyana (meditation)
  8. Samadhi (absorption of the consciousness in the Self; Bliss-Absolute)

Yama and Niyama

Yama and Niyama are the foundation of any yoga practice, and without them, there can be no success in meditation and no understanding of yoga in its wider sense.

Yamas, or the principles of respect for others, include non-violence towards oneself and others, truth, honesty, moderation and a lack of envy and covetousness.

Niyamas, or the guidelines for personal behaviour, include purification of the body and mind, contentment, self-discipline and self-study.

The constant application of Yama and Niyama develops in the practitioner a strong desire for liberation.

Asana (posture)
Asana practice, combined with Bandhas (locks), Mudras (seals) and Kriyas (cleansing-techniques), brings radiant health and long life. A healthy body leads to a healthy mind, and only a mind which is calm and steady can achieve unbroken concentration (meditation).

Pranayama (breath control practices)
Pranayama will purify the nerves, calm the mind and, consequently, allow the practitioner to take control of Prana (vital life-force) and the mind. With passion and emotions under control, success in meditation will be in sight.

Pratyahara is the ability to control the senses.

Dharana is one of the results of Pranayama practice as concentration is heightened when the senses are controlled.

With the practice of the previous steps, Dhyana (meditation) is easy to attain.

Last is Samadhi, when the practitioner becomes completely absorbed in the object or subject of contemplation as the self rests and is completely absorbed in divine perception.